My life’s narrative, guided by Disney

“All of our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them” – Walt Disney[1]

This quote defines my life narrative. As Arnett, Harden Fritz and Bell state “a narrative provides guidelines for human actions” (Arnett, Harden Fritz, and Bell, 2009, p. 37)[2]. I dream big. But I’m not just a dreamer, I put my vision into action. Throughout my life I have set my goals high and worked aggressively to achieve them. While my goals may have changed over the years, my narrative has not.

Stuart Miles on freedigitalphotos.net

Stuart Miles on freedigitalphotos.net

This narrative has informed my life decisions from the time I was a child. I wrote my first book when I was in the 6th grade and decided then that I wanted to be a writer. I have always been an introvert, more comfortable in my own head than socializing with others, which made writing a natural escape. In 2002, the year my son was born, I wrote Candy Around the World, a book about making learning about history and cultures around the world fun for kids. My dream was to be a writer. Ten years later I self-published my book, along with three others: Culinary Duct Tape, Guilt-Free Cupcakes and Lunch, by me. While none of them are best sellers and I don’t make a living off of my writing, it is still a dream that I’m pursuing.

CANDY

This narrative continued to inform my decisions, as I realized that making a living off of writing alone would be extremely challenging, so I set my next goal on becoming a communications manager for a Fortune 500 company, as it would allow me to write and explore my creative talents while also providing for my family. I achieved that goal, while continuing to write for pleasure on my blog, Five a Day the Fun Way, and my books. As a part of this dream, I wanted to be a part of the Walt Disney World Moms Panel, as I think that Disney is the best company in the world and it married by two passions – writing and Disney. In 2011 I was selected from over 30,000 applicants to be a part of the Walt Disney World Moms Panel. It has been an absolute dream. In 2013 I decided I was finally ready to pursue a goal that had been on my list since I graduated college, which was to pursue my Masters degree. Here I am now at Queens University, the best college in the area, in my opinion, and I’m learning from the best instructors and fellow students in the country.

Arnett, Harden Fritz and Bell state that a narrative offers a voice and protects a sense of good (2009)[3]. My “good” is staying true to myself and doing what is best for my children. While I mentioned pursuing all of my dreams and goals, the overarching “good” behind all of my dreams is my children. My narrative of doing what is right for my children guides each and every one of my decisions. My children mean more to me than anything in the world and they supersede all. For example, I mentioned that I wrote my first book in 2002 and published it in 2012. The reason for the ten-year gap is because I was focused on my children, Joshua 11 and Emily 7, and working full-time during that timeframe. With every decision I make, I ask myself, “How will this affect my children?” I work because I want to provide for my children and set a good example for them that a female can be a strong leader and a good mother. I want my daughter to know that she can do anything she wants and she doesn’t have to choose. I also decided that now is the time to go back to school to pursue my masters degree because my children are both in school. The narrative ground that shapes my application of my good is to demonstrate to my children that dreams plus hard work result in achieving your goals.

S-8590

Arnett, Harden Fritz and Bell discuss how philosophies the good narrative provides the “why” and the “how” in practicing communication ethics (2009)[4]. My “why” is because I want to demonstrate for my children what it takes to succeed and give them the confidence and tools they need to become a success in their life. My “how” is by outlining my dreams and goals and then creating an action plan to achieve them.

How has your narrative shaped your life? Has your narrative changed along with your goals or has it remained consistent?


[2] Arnett, B.C., Harden Fritz, J.M.& Bell, L.M. (2009). Communication ethics Literacy: Dialogue and Difference. Los Angeles, CA: Sage Publications.

[3] Arnett, B.C., Harden Fritz, J.M.& Bell, L.M. (2009). Communication ethics Literacy: Dialogue and Difference. Los Angeles, CA: Sage Publications.

[4] Arnett, B.C., Harden Fritz, J.M.& Bell, L.M. (2009). Communication ethics Literacy: Dialogue and Difference. Los Angeles, CA: Sage Publications.

4 thoughts on “My life’s narrative, guided by Disney

  1. Stacy,
    You are such an inspiring person! I enjoyed your blog; it relates so much to me. I always have a goal that I am working toward, and your journey is quite motivating. I like that you have been able to keep your good focused in your decision making process. Even though my children at the moment are my dogs, my husband and I still put them first just as a parent would their child. Now that we are starting to think about the future, my narrative has shifted. My goals have changed in that I want to find myself wanting to find myself in the career for me. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

